Buffy the Vampire Slayer Challenge: Day 2: Favorite Song from “Once More With Feeling”

"I touch the fire and it freezes me"

 

Day of 2 of the EPIC Buffy the Vampire Slayer challenge involves every Scoobies favorite musical ever Once More with Feeling. This also happens to be Lorne’s favorite episode of the series. The challenge asks you to select your favorite song from this perfect episode, and that is an almost impossible task. How can you pick a favorite when there are so many great songs to pick from?! We have the Xander-Anya old fashioned petrifying romantic tune of I’ll Never Tell, the breakaway pop-hit Under Your Spell, and the rousing battle cry Walk Through the Fire! How can anyone select a favorite? Well, I kind of flipped a quarter, and my winner was Walk Through the Fire. What was my other selection you ask? Well, that was Spike’s rocking number Rest in Peace. So you can see why I had such a hard time picking a song.

Walk Through the Fire is narrowly my favorite song from this episode. I think the main reason why it stands out is the feeling of isolation the song starts out with and turns into a togetherness battle cry. It’s so perfectly Whedon. Yes, using Whedon as a verb is a stroke of writing genius. Plus it has a perfect Willow moment in an episode that features little of our favorite Witch. I think this lines mostly filler.

In closing it’s a perfect song. The prelude to the final moment. The rising action. The togetherness. The way everyone ends up singing together. Whedongasms shall be had. Also Firetrucks. Let it burn.

"We'll see it though, it's what we're always here to do"

 

About willow55

I live in Harlan Kentucky. The town made famous by the documentary Harlan County U.S.A. and the television show Justified. I feel as though I’m living in a universe where film doesn’t exist in Harlan where my only escape to cinema is through the internet and the one sanctuary Movies to Go. I became a cinephile in 2007 when I was 15. I’m now going on 20. I’ve dedicated these last five years to watching, reading and talking about movies. I write about film on the film website The Corrierino and I would describe my taste as modern romantic. I love all types of films but I tend to gravitate towards the more relationship driven works. I also have a sick love for horror films. I want to someday own an art house cinema. THE END
This entry was posted in TV Box and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Buffy the Vampire Slayer Challenge: Day 2: Favorite Song from “Once More With Feeling”

  1. Jane Bardo says:

    “I’ll Never Tell”!

  2. sleeplessghost says:

    My favorite song is probably either “Walk Through The Fire” or “Going Through The Motions”. It sounds weird, but I can relate to what Buffy is going through the most and I think Sarah has a sweet singing voice, even though she is obviously not a professional. Just like you, I also like about “Walk Through The Fire” that it turns into a powerful group piece about supporting each other. What is your least favorite song from the musical? I don’t like Spike’s song all that much.

    • willow55 says:

      I do like Spike’s song quite a bit. If I had to pick my least favorite I’m not sure what it would be it’s kind of a perfect episode. I don’t listen to Standing as much as the others but I still really like that song. I think Tony Head has the best singing voice out of all the cast members.

  3. Love, love, love Rest In Peace! I pretty much love ’em all. They’re all so different that I find it hard to compare them.

  4. Bri says:

    My all time favorite song of the episode it Under Your Spell. I think it is utterly perfect and captures the entire essence of Willow and Tara’s relationship. Amber is so flawless I can’t help but question my own orientation when she sings it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

